Social Links Search User Login Menu

News about the UK Flying Fifteen fleet

What is going on in the world of UK Flying Fifteens

UK Flying 15 News

SuperUser Account 1547

Salcombe Gin Flying Fifteen Southern Championship

Parkstone YC: 18-19th June 2022

Twenty boats joined 13 from the local fleet at Parkstone Yacht Club for the Salcombe Gin Flying Fifteen Southern Championships over the weekend of 18 - 19 June 2022.

As the fleet headed out into Poole Bay on Saturday morning there was a shifty Northerly breeze. With averages of around 10 knots Race Officer Andrew Hartley set a windward leeward course for the first race of the day. By they time the fleet started they were racing in an average of 16 - 19 knots with gusts of 27 knots. There was a large shift up the first beat and those who went right lost out to those who headed straight for the beach. Jeremy Davy and Martin Huett in 3760 won the first race with Ian Pinnell and Ian Cadwallader on 4096 in second and the new partnership of Shane MacCarthy and Nigel King in 4085 were third.

With the wind consistently averaging the high teens the race team set a triangle sausage course for the second race. Jeremy Davy and Martin Huett remained consistent with another win and were followed by Charles and Charlie Apthorp in 3957 in second and Richard Lovering and Matt Alvarado in 4002 in third.

Race 3 saw a new race winner with Ian Pinnell and Ian Cadwallader taking line honours, with Charles and Charlie Apthorp in second and Richard Lovering and Matt Alvarado in third.

Winning Team: Jeremy Davy and Martin Huett
The fleet returned to shore in gusts of 30 + knots to a beer on the slipway with plenty of smiles and comments of spectacular conditions and awesome reaches out on the racecourse. Thanks to our very generous sponsors, Salcombe Gin, Digital Sailing, Hyde Sails, Pinnell and Bax, Goacher Sails, North Sails and Ovington Boats a daily prize-giving was held whilst the competitors enjoyed a curry in the Clubhouse.

Sunday morning saw a delay as the fleet waited for enough water to launch before heading back to the bay in a shifty North Easterly. The race officer set a triangle sausage course for the first race of the day. Andrew Jameson and James Grant on 4060 took line honours followed by home boat of Richard Whitworth and Ben Scroggie in second and Chris Waples and Simon Hunt in 4061 in third.

Going into the last race of the weekend the Championship was between Jeremy Davy and Martin Huett and Ian Pinnell and Ian Cadwallader. Jeremy and Martin took line honours for the third time during the weekend giving them the overall Championship. Richard Lovering and Matt Alvarado took second resulting in them finishing 3rd overall and Ian Pinnell and Ian Cadwallander's 3rd meant they finished 2nd overall. A huge thanks to last minute sponsor Sarah Hornby Art for donating a painting of a flying fifteen for the Championship winner.

The fleet returned to the club for afternoon tea and the overall prize-giving. A huge thanks to last minute sponsor Sarah Hornby Art for donating a painting of a Flying Fifteen for the Championship winner.

A great weekend of spectacular sailing conditions and an opportunity to catch up with fellow flying fifteen sailors.

Overall Results:

Position Division Boat Name Sail No Helm Crew Club R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 Points
1st Red   3760 Jeremy Davy Martin Huett Draycote Water SC 1 1 6 ‑8 1 9
2nd Red Oooh La La 4096 Ian Pinnell Ian Cadwallader HISC 2 ‑9 1 5 3 11
3rd Red Hyderated 4002 Richard Lovering Matt Alvarado HISC / WYC ‑19 3 3 7 2 15
4th Red FFil the Greek 4060 Andrew Jameson James Grant HISC/WYC 6 8 5 1 ‑11 20
5th Red   4085 Shane MacCarthy Nigel King Greystones SC 3 7 ‑8 4 7 21
6th Red Fourwinds 3957 Charles Apthorp Charlie Apthorp HISC ‑11 2 2 9 9 22
7th Red Puffa Fish 4089 Hamish Mackay Andrew Lawson Royal Thames YC/HISC ‑9 5 4 6 8 23
8th Red Noughty 4100 Greg Wells David Tulloch HISC 4 11 7 ‑25 6 28
9th Red phoenix 4083 John Lavery Alan Green National YC 7 10 9 ‑17 5 31
10th Blue Agatha 4030 Alastair Stevenson David Datchet Water SC ‑13 13 13 12 4 42
11th Blue Really Flying 4024 Simon Kneller Ashley painter Grafham water 10 ‑15 11 10 12 43
12th Red Windbreaker 4080 Simon Patterson Simon Thompson Draycote Water SC ‑18 6 10 15 15 46
13th Blue #Sparks 4061 Chris Waples Simon Hunt HISC 17 ‑19 16 3 18 54
14th Blue Defying Gravity 3914 Adrian Tattersall Glyn Morgan PYC and FBYC 12 14 14 ‑28 16 56
15th Blue Quindici 4069 Bill Chard Josh Preater Chew Valley Lake SC 16 12 12 ‑22 17 57
16th Blue FFUK 3851 Ian Linder Sam Moore/Kevin Sweetman Burghfield SC 15 16 ‑19 14 14 59
17th Blue Footloose 3922 Crispin Read Wilson Steve Brown Parksone YC 14 18 23 11 (DNS) 66
18th Green Parkstone Penguin 4088 Geof Gibbons Nick Gibbons Parkstone YC ‑26 23 17 13 13 66
19th Red Sparks & Bubbles 4033 Justin Waples Ella Waples RCYC & RHYC 24 17 15 18 (DNF) 74
20th Blue Freakin Fantabulous 4020 Richard Whitworth Ben Scroggie Parkstone YC (DNC) DNC DNC 2 10 80
21st Red Raffi 4102 Andy Tunnicliffe Paul Davis Bassenthwaite SC 8 4 (DNF) DNC DNC 80
22nd Green Ffizzgig 4036 Richard Linford Chris Jermyn Parkstone YC 20 21 18 ‑23 21 80
23rd Green Ffantasia Too 3934 Graham Davies Judith Spark Parkstone YC 21 ‑25 25 16 19 81
24th Green Last Fling 3674 Martyn Davies Richard Coleman Brading Haven YC ‑25 20 24 19 20 83
25th Green Raving Mad 3966 Richard Ledger Alan Baker Parkstone YC 22 (NCS) 22 24 22 90
26th Blue Vaquero 4027 Michael Clapp Howard Shawyer Parkstone/Datchet ‑30 26 20 21 25 92
27th Green Offbeat 4054 David McLeman Anne‑Laure McLeman Parkstone YC ‑27 24 21 27 24 96
28th Green ffido 4041 Simon Richard Ker Cooper Alastair Richard Ker Cooper Bewl Sailing Assoc 28 (NCS) 26 26 23 103
29th Blue Ineffable 4084 Tim O'Brien Pip Noon GWSC ‑29 22 27 29 26 104
30th Blue Land Of Conffusion 3537 Bob Alexander Huw Willetts Parksone YC 5 (DNF) DNS DNC DNC 107
31st Green Gripple Nipper 3758 Graham Latham TBA Parksone YC 23 27 (DNS) DNC DNC 118
32nd Green Freewheelin 3901 Peter Biggs T Annels/D Butters Parkstone YC 31 (DNF) DNS 20 DNS 119
33rd Green FFoenix 3850 Christina Moncur Stephen Moncur Parkstone YC (DNF) DNS DNS DNC DNC 136

Report by by Christina Moncur

Sailing Photos © Digital Sailing (all images taken available for purchase)
Winners Photo © Sarah Hornby

Rate article

No rating
Rate this article:
No rating




Collapse Expand Comments (0)
You don't have permission to post comments.
Back To Top