Social Links Search User Login Menu

Flying 15 News

The UK Flying Fifteen Association spreads the message about the quality of sailing and racing to be had.

All the News!

Waples Wines Northern Traveller Series after Round 1
FF Editor 1781

Waples Wines Northern Traveller Series after Round 1

Previous Article Previous Article Classics celebrate class 70th year
Next Article Round 2 of Waples Wines Series at Dovestone this weekend Round 2 of Waples Wines Series at Dovestone this weekend

The first round of the 2017 6 event series was hosted by Royal Windermere Yacht Club over the weekend of the 23rd and 24th April. The forecast was not encouraging however proved to be glorious with unseasonal sun and warmth. The wind was not quite as accommodating as the winds proved fairly light and fickle.The club were able to run the full program and the weekend proved very enjoyable for the crews of the 20 boats that took part.

2017 marks the 70th year of the Flying Fifteen class and it was therefore fitting that the 20 boat fleet included the early classics Sail No 202 Silver Fox, 617 Fettercairn and 759 Flame. These boats were in magnificent order and were sailed competitively with their more modern sisters in the lighter winds and flat water conditions that prevailed.Hopefully this year these old ladies will be joined by other classics out on the water.

As usual the Waples Wines Northern Traveller Series results do not include the top 15 teams from the previous Qualifying series (Northerns, Southerns, Inlands, Scottish and British Nationals). The final results after Round 1 are therefore as follows;

1 4031 RWYC Nigel Tullett Richard Rigg

2 3641 B&FYC Mike Preston David Manifold

3 4024 GWSC Dave Lucas Phil Evans

4 4017 RWYC Phil Snewin Ros Coleman

5 617 RSC Graham Lamond Alistair Lamond Classic

6 3751 RWYC Julian newman Amamda Wilson

7 3573 RWYC John Atkinson Elizabeth Moreton

8 3539 RWYC Dave Heron Chris Ducker

9 202 RYA Bobby Salmond David Hill Classic

10 3623 BSC Angus Corry Shaun Billany

11 3517 USC Craig Robinson Hannah Davies

12 3130 SWSC Jordan Aspin Jason Benn Silver

13 3210 RWYC Adam Cowley Lawrence Clabburn Silver

14 3903 RWYC Keith Jamieson Pierre Labatt

15 3379 BSC Gary Butler Paul McCarthy Silver

16 3602 B&FYC Peter Mountain R Mountain

17 3627 SSC Rob Goodison Jon Mallory

18 3791 RWYC Richard Bartholomew Sarah Bartholomew

Rate article

No rating
Rate this article:
No rating




Collapse Expand Comments (0)
You don't have permission to post comments.

Theme picker

News Search

To find earlier articles you can either use the search facility or select an appropriate category from the list below.

Sponsors Adverts

Back To Top